Mockingjay : Suzanne Collins

Book review for : Mockingjay
Author : Suzanne Collins
Rating : 5 stars
Series : The Hunger Games, book 3. Start with The Hunger Games

Katniss Doesn’t Want to Play Anymore…

This could have been a book where the rebels overthrow the Capitol with some exciting battle sequences and everyone lives happily ever after. If it was, it would be nowhere as remarkable a book as it is.

In the first few chapters, I laughed. In the last few chapters, I cried.

After all she’s been through, it’s no wonder Katniss is having some mental troubles. Ever since her sister’s name was called in the Hunger Games — if not her whole life — Katniss has had to work to the rhythms and demands of others. In the newest development of her star career, Katniss becomes the Mockingjay, a figurehead for the rebellion, while others die and Peeta is imprisoned in the Capitol. As before, she manages everything with an admirable stalwartness, and though I didn’t particularly care for Katniss in the other books, I find myself on her side completely for this one.

Katniss is a strong character. It’s hard to see her broken.

The trilogy completely engrossed me, the last book touched me the most. A couple of my friends who read the trilogy were unsatisfied with the conclusion, but both my sister and I thought it a realistic, interesting… and not wholly unsatisfying ending to such a series.

My only complaint is that although I liked the book, I feel some things could have been done better. Katniss, who for the first 2 books succeeds at conquering everything thrown her way, starts to give up. Her condition, and the lack of sympathy from those around her, made me cry. While the character development is impressive, I would have liked to see some sort of revival of Katniss’ fighting spirit we rooted for in the beginning, if only in the last few pages.

 

Review originally posted on Amazon in 2010.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

