The Brass Queen : Elizabeth Chatsworth

Book review for : The Brass Queen
Author : Elizabeth Chatsworth
Rating : 3 stars
Series: The Brass Queen #1

Brassy queen of drama

Steampunk Victorian England. Constance is on the hunt for a husband, in order to keep her home (because inheritance laws). He’ll have to be ok with her obsession with artifacts and guns, her martial arts training, her fiery attitude, and oh yes, her arms dealings. Trusdale is an American (turn up nose here) supposedly a scientist but actually a spy to figure out if ‘merica is going to be sacked by England any time soon. As Trusdale somehow ends up saving her life at her coming-of-age party, they team up to find kidnapped scientists and defeat invisible foes.

At first, I enjoyed it. Like…the first two chapters. Then I started getting tired of it. Halfway through I really, really was going to drop it halfway, but I decided to stick with it.

It was almost a comedy…except more of a slapstick. I did chuckle a couple times. And I winced a lot. Like, a LOT. The plot was fun and the characters had potential (Constance is funny, Trusdale rational) but they were so ridiculous it was hard to really like them.
It’s almost a romance, except there’s absolutely no romance. Suddenly Trusdale falls for Constance and from the beginning you know they are meant for each other (because setup, not because character).

I just…had a hard time taking any of it seriously. At a few points the characters did something so inexplicable or inexplicably STUPID that I couldn’t even read the next few pages because I was so baffled.

Review also posted on Goodreads. 

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑